top of page
Search

The Return Of The Old School?

It amazes me how quick time goes, originally I was going to use the cell tour at the start of the year, but decided I would hold off until later in the year and to be honest, prior to this week, I had done no work on completing it at all. I am thinking that it might be also be worthwhile creating a map for the 'multiple intelligences' and getting the students to fill out a MI survey whilst running around a Minecraft world, but at this stage the survey is over 30 questions long, and getting a 'final score' at the end stating which intelligence is the strongest is going to be very tricky too. I also need to make sure the students don't think that all proteins created by a cell are exported, so I am thinking perhaps that some students should be required to take their proteins back to the mitochondria, or even the lysosome, and deliver them there instead of exporting them from the cell, but again I am unsure how to tie this in with what I know Minecraft can deliver.


I was sitting around today writing courses for my Year 7 Science class, and I came across de Bono's 'thinking hats' and thought to myself, that is normally pretty dry and boring, and the kids seem to forget it as soon as the lesson finishes, maybe I should try making a Minecraft map to teach them instead. Never fear, it has still been happening, a bit less (dang Diablo III taking a lot of time), but I have been doing some work towards completing my 3D cell tour map. I feel that if I was there in the classroom that a lot of these problem solving and teamwork skills would not have been developed as much. However as the lesson progressed I realised that while they may not have completed as much of the task as I would have hoped there was a different learning happening in the room, the main reason it was different was because I was not there. One concern I have with having the audio during the lesson is that it may impact on the lesson progression, so instead of responding to what was happening in the world, I might end up responding to things that were happening in that room.



There was something happening in todays lesson that I have never experienced before. If this started happening it would in my opinion take something away from this lesson. The kids started logging in, much to my surprise. Did the students achieve as much as if they would have if I was a physical presence in the classroom, no I don't think that they did in terms of the actual task I had set, typing into text takes a bit longer than talking to them. I now realise the power of speech at getting your point across, the tones of excitement do not translate into text. On reflection I am amazed at how much impact my tone must have on engaging students in their learning, and how much I rely on the tones in their voices to gauge how involved they are in the task. It would have been me helping students with their issues, and me teaching them how to do some of the different things in game.


Numerous titles followed, among them the highly-acclaimed adventure game version of The Hitch-Hiker's Guide to the Galaxy and Leather Goddess of Phobos, but Zork was where it began. DOS 1.0 - Introduced with the IBM PC in 1981. This is the first version of Microsoft MS-DOS and it only came the IBM Personal Computer. The first game on which Schafer served as project lead, Fandango was also the first LucasArts adventure game to feature 3D computer graphics. This app brings this classic card game to your Android. BattleTech (video game) Wikipedia BattleTech is an upcoming turn based strategy video game being developed by Harebrained Schemes and published by Paradox Interactive. https://pcgameinfos.com/category/tips was thrilled with the additional leadership and experience that I found in Doug’s and Pat’s previous experience in growing and managing a software company that had previously experienced its own explosive growth phases (prior to being acquired by Auto Trader) which has proven to be invaluable.


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page